PMK names candidates, no word from BJP

Pattali Makkal Katchi on Monday announced its candidates for the November 19 polls for Thanjavur and Aravakkurichi and the by-poll for Tiruparankundram. Party deputy general secretary PMK Baskaran and G Kunjithapatham will contest in Aravakurichi and Thanjavur respectively.
PMK names candidates, no word from BJP
PMK Leader S Ramadoss


D Selvam, also PMK’s deputy general secretary, will be the candidate from Tirupparankundram, PMK president G K Mani said in a release on Monday. He said the names of candidates were cleared by party founder Dr S Ramadoss and youth wing chief Anbumani Ramadoss.
PMK’s announcement comes days after the AIADMK and DMK announced their candidates. Both parties had retained their respective nominees announced for the May 16 Assembly general election. PMK had strongly criticised both AIADMK and DMK for naming the same candidates in Aravakurichi and Thanjavur in view of the Election Commission’s findings of distribution of money and gifts to voters. PMK too has retained its candidates for Thanjavur and Aravakurichi it had named for the May 16 elections.
Meanwhile, BJP leader and Union Minister Pon Radhakrishnan in Thanjavur said that the names of the BJP candidates will be announced by the central leadership anytime. The state unit has forwarded the names of the candidates already, he said. He added “The Election commission officials should curb the use of money by the candidates by any party to buy votes.” 
He said “The Election Commission should not hesitate to rescind the poll notification once again if there are any violations in these constituencies as these kind of violations will make the people lose faith in the process of democracy.”

Related Stories

No stories found.
DT next