Mayiladuthurai Announced As 38th District Of Tamil Nadu

Tamil Nadu Chief Minister K Palaniswami on Monday inaugurated the newly-formed Mayiladuthurai district. The 38th district in the state has been carved out of Nagapattinam district.
Mayiladuthurai Announced As 38th District Of Tamil Nadu
Source: Indian Railways; Mayiladuthurai becomes 38th district of TN


Earlier in March, CM Palanisami had announced that Mayiladuthurai will be split from Nagapattinam, making it as the district headquarters.
Accordingly, after 8 months of the announcement, the Chief Minister inaugurated the district through video conferencing from the Secretariat in Chennai. It may be recalled there had been a long-pending demand from the people of Mayiladuthurai to consider them as a separate district for nearly 25 years.
The new district comprises four taluks - Mayiladuthurai, Sirkazhi, Tarangambadi, and Kuthalam. It has a total population of 9.01 lakh.
R Lalitha, who served as the special officer for district formation has taken charge as the district collector. IPS officer Srinatha has been appointed as the superintendent of police.
The officials assumed charge at the Mayiladuthurai collectorate soon after the inaugural function. Handlooms Minister O S Manian, Poompuhar MLA Paunraj, Mayiladuthurai MLA Radhakrishnan, and others were present in Mayiladuthurai during the inaugural function.
Earlier, the CM had announced that few new districts will be formed in the state for administrative convenience and accelerating the public welfare schemes. According to which, Kallakurichu, Tirupattur, Chengalpattu, Tenkasi and Ranipet were announced as separate districts this year.
With Mayiladuthurai as the new district, the total number of districts in the State becomes 38.
(With inputs from PTI)

Related Stories

No stories found.