Vellore AMMK takes lead in revamping party

After trifurcation of Vellore district, the AMMK has taken the lead in reorganising its party posts to keep up with the newly formed Ranipet and Tirupattur districts. This move by the rebel party has irked AIADMK cadre who have been seeking a similar reorganisation of the ruling party units for months together.
Vellore AMMK takes lead in revamping party


An AMMK announcement in vernacular dailies revealed that Ranipet district comprising Arcot, Ranipet, Arakkonam and Sholingur Assembly constituencies will have former Sholingur AIADMK MLA NG Parthiban as district secretary while Tirupattur district comprising Tirupattur, Ambur, Vaniyambadi and Jolorpet will have former AIADMK Ambur MLA R Balasubramani as its district secretary.

Vellore district has been split into Vellore rural district comprising Gudiyattam, Anaicut and KV Kuppam Assembly segments and Vellore urban district comprising Vellore and Katpadi Assembly constituencies. While former AIADMK Gudiyattam MLA C Jayanthi Padmanabhan will be the Vellore rural district secretary, AS Raja has been nominated Vellore urban district secretary.

Senior party functionaries, seeking anonymity said, “the AMMK has accommodated MLAs as district secretaries even though they lost the recent bypolls. We can only wonder at the delay for a similar exercise by the AIADMK when even a newly formed party like AMMK has realised the need for this.”

Enquiries reveal that though Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami asked Vellore west district secretary and Commercial Taxes Minister KC Veeramani to submit a list of names to fill top district level posts the latter has put off the exercise stating that he was “makingsome corrections.”

Are you in Chennai?  Then click here to get our newspaper at your doorstep!! 

Related Stories

No stories found.
DT next