Revenue divisions, taluks confirmed

The state government has confirmed the revenue divisions and taluks for the new Ranipet and Tirupattur revenue districts formed by the trifurcation of Vellore district with effect from Wednesday, officials said.
Revenue divisions, taluks confirmed


Vellore district will include the Vellore and Gudiyattam revenue divisions and have under them the six taluks, including Vellore, Anaicut, Katpadi, Gudiyattam, Pernambut and KV Kuppam. Gudiyattam is a new revenue division and KV Kuppam is a new taluk announced earlier.

Ranipet district will have Ranipet and Arakkonam revenue divisions and will include four taluks of Walaljahpet, Arakkonam, Nemili and Arcot. Arakkonam is a newly-created revenue division.

Tirupattur revenue district will include the Tirupattur and Vaniyambadi revenue divisions, the latter being newly-created and will have the four taluks of Tirupattur, Vaniyambadi, Ambur and Natrampalli.

The announcement was greeted with cheers by the residents of Pernambut who faced an uncertain future due to ruling partymen openly stating that it would be attached to Tirupattur as district Minister KC Veeramani hailed from Jolarpet in Tirupattur district.

Residents had vociferously demanded that Pernambut be retained in Vellore district at a public hearing and had threatened to move the court if all efforts failed.

Visit to explore our interactive epaper!

Download the DT Next app for more exciting features!

Click here for iOS

Click here for Android

Related Stories

No stories found.
DT next