5 new trains from Tambaram announced

Five new express trains, including Humsafar and Antyodaya expresses, both from newly formed Tambaram railway terminal, would be introduced by southern railway (SR) soon.
5 new trains from Tambaram announced
Representative Image


SR, which released the time table for 2017-18 on Tuesday, has proposed a Humsafar express to Bhagat Ki Kothi in Rajasthan and an Antyodaya express each to Tirunelveli and Sengottai.
The Humsafar express train no: 14814/14816 (weekly) would start from Tambaram on Fridays. A bi-weekly express train (no: 16356/16355) would be operated between Kochuveli and Mangaluru. SR has unveiled the time table after a two-month delay, and that too after deferring its release twice. 
SR has proposed to notify the date of introduction of the four trains later. An air-conditioned weekly superfast express (train no: 20601/20602) connecting Chennai Central and Madurai would be operated from Chennai Central and Madurai on November 3 and 5 respectively. The train comprising a first AC, three tier-III and eight tier-III AC coaches would stop at Katpadi, Salem, Karur, Dindigul and Perambur only.
Extension of trains:
As per the new time table, three trains would be extended. Train no: 22651/22652 Chennai Central – Palani Express would be extended up to Palakkad junction via Pollachi from November 1. Train no: 16343/16344 Trivandrum -Palakkad Town Amritha Express would be extended to Madurai via Pollachi and Palani from October 31 from Trivandrum and November 1 from Madurai. 
Train no: 16723/16724 Chennai Egmore – Trivandrum Ananthapuri Express would run up to Kollam. The train would get an additional stoppage at Varkala station on the extended portion.
The railway zone has also increased the frequency of train no: 16314/16313, which would be merged with Kannur-Alappuzha Express and renamed as train no: 16308/16307 and run as daily train between Kannur- Alappuzha – Kannur from February 1, 2018. Currently, train no: 16314/16313 Kannur-Ernakulam bi-weekly express would be extended up to Alapppuzha from November 1. 
Diversion: Train no 16179/16170 Chennai Egmore – Mannargudi express would be run via Mayiladuthurai, Thiruvarur and Niamangalam without touching Thanjavur from March 1, 2018 from both ends.
Running time of 30 services reduced 
Thirty express trains, including a dozen pair of express trains connecting Chennai Egmore to various southern towns like Rameswaram, Sengottai, Madurai, Kanniyakumari, Tiruchy, Mannargudi, Salem, Tuticorin, Tirunelveli and far off Trivandrum and Mangaluru in southern railway zone would be speeded up between 10 and 75 minutes from November 1. 
Another 21 trains operated from Southern Railway to other zones, mainly to northern India, would also be speeded up from 10 to 100 minutes. Train no: 17605 Mangaluru to Kacheguda would reach 235 minutes earlier. New local trains would be operated from Chengalpet to Thirumalpur, Chennai Central to Avadi, Beach to Tiruvallur and Central to Avadi from November 1. SR zone has also changed the arrival and departure time of trains at/from Chennai Central and Egmore stations. 

Related Stories

No stories found.