Begin typing your search...

Dharmasena admits error in overthrows incident

The umpire who awarded England six runs from a freak overthrow in the last over of the World Cup final has admitted he made an “error” and should have given one run fewer, a report said Sunday.

Dharmasena admits error in overthrows incident
X
Kumar Dharmasena (Photo courtesy: PTI)

Colombo

A throw to the stumps deflected off the bat of a diving Ben Stokes as he tried to complete a second run and raced to the boundary, with Sri Lankan umpire Kumar Dharmasena awarding six.


Former Sri Lankan Test player Dharmasena told the Sunday Times he did not have the benefit of television replays which showed the batsmen had not crossed.


“I agree that there was an error of judgement when I see it on TV replays now,” Dharmasena, who was umpiring the final with South Africa’s Marais Erasmus, told the local Sunday Times.


“But we did not have the luxury of TV replays at the ground and I do not regret the decision I made.”


Dharmasena said he signalled six after consulting the match officials. “So, I did consult the leg umpire (Erasmus) through the communication system which is heard by all other umpires and the referee,” he told the newspaper.

Visit news.dtnext.in to explore our interactive epaper!

Download the DT Next app for more exciting features!

Click here for iOS

Click here for Android

migrator
Next Story