TNCA League: Captain Gopinath slams ton to help Nelson SC win

Nelson SC captain KH Gopinath scored his second century of the season to guide his team to a five-wicket win over Young Stars in the TNCA First Division League here on Wednesday.
TNCA League: Captain Gopinath slams ton to help Nelson SC win
Rahil Shah (left), KH Gopinath


It was a come from behind win for Nelson as it trailed Young Stars by 122 runs after the completion of first innings. Looking for an outright win, Young Stars declared its second innings at 182 for seven, thereby setting Nelson a target of 305 in 70 overs.
Gopinath, opening the innings, got out for 100 (142b, 10x4) and added 107 runs in 23.4 overs for the third wicket with Daryl S Ferrario 65 (107b, 4x4, 1x6). All-rounder W Antony Dhas played an enterprising cameo blasting his way to 50 (29b, 3x4, 3x6) as Nelson chased down the score with a little over two overs remaining.
Brief scores: Elite: Vijay CC 370 drew with Grand Slam 202 in 76.1 overs (L Suryapprakash 70, Shubham Sharma 40, Rahil Shah 6/89, Malolan Rangarajan 3/50) & 183/2 in 57 overs (L Suryapprakash 64*, Abhimanyu Easwaran 48, Shubham Sharma 51*, Rahil Shah 2/41). Points: Vijay (5), Grand Slam 2.
India Pistons 188 and 200/3 in 68 overs (S Guru Raghavendran 104*, A Venkatesh 57*) drew with Globe Trotters 365/8 decl. in 112.5 overs (K Mukunth 138, M S Washington Sundar 182*, M Prabhu 6/94). Trotters (5), Pistons (2).
Young Stars 274 and 182/ decl. in 48 overs (Ganesh Satish 68, V Lakshman 3/39) lost to Nelson 152 and 306/5 in 67.4 overs (K H Gopinath 100, Daryl S Ferrario 65, W Antony Dhas 50, Mohan Prasath 4/98). Nelson (8), Young Stars 0.
Plate: Alwarpet 343 and 41/1 in twelve overs drew with Jolly Rovers 380 in 99.2 overs (Jiwan Jot Singh 63, M Vijay 105, S Suresh Kumar 40, M Siddharth 4/118). Rovers (5), Alwarpet (2).
T I Cycles 144 and 312/6 decl. beat AG’s Office 136 and 244 in 69 overs (P Francis Rokins 44, R D Ashwin Kumar 73, R Sanjay Yadav 4/87, Varun Sood 3/57). TI Cycles (8), AGORC 0.
UFCC (T Nagar) 244 drew with CromBest 341/5 in 122 overs R Ananth 143, Vignesh S Iyer 66, Varun M Totadri 56*). CromBest (5), UFCC (2).

Related Stories

No stories found.