Begin typing your search...

Adhiban, Sethuraman among Sharjah winners

It was a good day for Chennai Grandmasters Baskaran Adhiban and SP Sethuraman as they shared the first prize in the Sharjah Masters 2017 Chess Tournament.

Adhiban, Sethuraman among Sharjah winners
SP Sethuraman (Left), B Adhiban (Right)


The tournament ended with a six-way tie for the first place. Wang Ho (China) with a rating of 2683, followed by Baskaran Adhiban (India) with a rating of 2682, Martin Kravtsiv of Ukraine, Yuri Kryvorchko (Ukraine) with a rating of 2708, SP Sethuraman (India), Salem AR Saleh (UAE) scored seven points each from nine rounds. 

Adhiban held Radoslaw Wojtaszek of Poland to draw in the ninth and final round while Sethuraman did even better beating GM Vladimir Akopian. 

In fact, it was a good outing for many Tamil Nadu players. R Praggnanandhaa and GA Stany logged six points each. N Srinath, who completed the requirements for the GM title, tallied six points too. Deepan Chakravarthy and P Karthikeyan scored 5.5 points each. 

Hari, Yu split the point 

India’s Pentala Harikrishna drew with Yu Yangyi of China in the ninth round of the DT News Chess Tournament at Shenzen on Saturday. Hari agreed for a draw in an equal position after 31 moves. With this, Hari needs to win his last-round game to do justice to his rating. 

Ding Liren of China and Michael Adams of England drew their ninth round game and Peter Svidler of Russia and Anish Giri of US also split the point. Hari and Peter Svidler shared the third position with 4.5 points each.

Visit to explore our interactive epaper!

Download the DT Next app for more exciting features!

Click here for iOS

Click here for Android

Next Story