Begin typing your search...

SAFF announces draw for U-17, U-20, Women’s 2024 Championships

SAFF U17 Championship, U20 Championship, and Women’s Championship 2024 sees India placed in challenging groups, with exciting matchups expected in the upcoming football tournaments

SAFF announces draw for U-17, U-20, Women’s 2024 Championships

South Asian Football Federation (SAFF) U17 Championship 2024

DHAKA: The draw for the South Asian Football Federation (SAFF) U17 Championship 2024, U20 Championship 2024 and Women’s Championship was announced on Saturday.

In the U17 event, holders India were placed in Group A alongside Maldives and Bangladesh. Hosts Bhutan, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka were drawn in Group B. The SAFF U17 Championship will be played in Bhutan from September 18- 28, 2024.

In the U20 championship, India, the defending champions, have been drawn with Maldives and Bhutan in Group B, while hosts Nepal, Bangladesh, Pakistan and Sri Lanka made up Group A. The SAFF U20 Championship 2024, will be held in Kathmandu, Nepal from August 16-28, 2024.

In the SAFF Women’s Championship 2024, the Indian senior women’s national team were drawn with Bangladesh and Pakistan in Group A, while hosts Nepal were drawn in Group B with Sri Lanka, Maldives and Bhutan.

This year, seven teams will participate in the three competitions. The format of all the competitions remains the same. All three championships will be played on the League-cum-knockout basis, where seven teams are divided into two groups (four teams in one group and three in the other).

The top two teams from both groups will qualify for the semi-finals.

India emerged as champions of both SAFF youth tournaments held in 2022 for the U20 and U17 age groups. In the last edition of the SAFF Women’s Championship 2022, India lost to Nepal 1-0 in the semi-finals.

SAFF U17 Men's Championship 2024, Bhutan: September 18- 28, 2024

Group A: India, Maldives, Bangladesh

Group B: Bhutan, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka

SAFF U20 Men's Championship 2024, Nepal: August 16-28, 2024.

Group A: Nepal, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Sri Lanka

Group B: India, Maldives, Bhutan

SAFF Women’s Championship 2024, Nepal: October 17 to 30, 2024

Group A: India, Bangladesh, Pakistan

Group B: Nepal, Sri Lanka, Maldives, Bhutan

Next Story