Russia's Rostov region opens 15 border crossings for Donbas refugees, says Emergencies Ministry

Russia's Rostov Region has opened 15 border crossings for refugees from the eastern Ukrainian region of Donbas, the Russian Emergencies Ministry told Sputnik on Saturday.
Representative Image (Image Credit: ANI)
Representative Image (Image Credit: ANI)


On Friday, the self-proclaimed Luhansk People's Republic (LPR) and Donetsk People's Republic (DPR) announced the evacuation of their citizens to the Rostov Region over the escalation of tensions on the contact line. 
"As of February 19, six automobile, two railway and seven pedestrian checkpoints are operating in the Rostov Region," the ministry said. 
The LPR and DPR are accusing Kiev of launching a new military operation against them while the Ukrainian authorities have repeatedly stressed that they hold Russia responsible for any escalation in Donbas.

Visit to explore our interactive epaper!

Download the DT Next app for more exciting features!

Click here for iOS

Click here for Android

Related Stories

No stories found.
DT next