Begin typing your search...

DMK likely to form more district units in Chennai ahead of polls

Principal Opposition party DMK is staring at a massive reshuffle at its headquarters with its leadership contemplating a division of the party districts in Chennai.

DMK likely to form more district units in Chennai ahead of polls


Party sources revealed to DT Next that the high command has mulled further division of the four Chennai party districts. A party insider privy to the development said that the high command has been considering reorganisation on the lines of what it did in a few other districts recently. “The top brass has been considering splitting of the party districts into two or three Assembly constituency districts, as was done in Coimbatore very recently,” a party source said. It would facilitate decentralisation of power and create new positions for party functionaries.

“At least two or three positions for new district secretaries would be created in Chennai alone. It will reduce the disaffection caused by the recent appointment of youth wing office-bearer in charge of the coveted Chennai west party district. Also, power would be divested to new players from an influential few,” the source added. “It will nurture ambitions among lower-level functionaries as new party districts would mean the creation of new area secretaries. There will be a vertical devolution of power in the district level. We are already strong in Chennai. This will add more vigour to the party in the headquarters,” a party insider requesting anonymity said, adding that the final decision on reorganising the Chennai party districts would be made by party president MK Stalin soon. If the division of power is executed in the city, a few larger districts could also be split in the days to come and a couple of senior functionaries in the South could lose their current party positions.

Office-bearers appointed for Theni: The party has bifurcated the Theni district. “Thanga Tamilselvan has been appointed in charge of Theni (north) comprising Bodi and Periakulam constituencies, while N Ramakrishnan would be in charge of Theni south which consists of Kambam and Andipatti constituencies,” an announcement made by general secretary Duraimurugan said. Duraimurugan has also relieved A Raja and Thanga Tamilselvan from the posts they so far held and appointed debater ‘Dindigul’ Leoni and Sabapathy Mohan as new propaganda secretaries of the party.

Visit to explore our interactive epaper!

Download the DT Next app for more exciting features!

Click here for iOS

Click here for Android

Next Story