GOs on formation of five new districts issued

After announcing the formation of five new districts, the state government on Wednesday issued four Government Orders (GOs) to give administrative sanction for the new districts.
GOs on formation of five new districts issued


According to the GOs, the existing districts of Villipuram, Kanchipuram and Tirunelveli would be bifurcated into two and new districts of Kallakurichi, Chengalpattu and Tenkasi would be formed. Vellore district would be trifurcated to form two new districts of Tirupathur and Ranipet.

Similarly, for Kancheepuram district, there will be two revenue divisions of Kancheepuram and Sriperumbudur, which has been newly formed, with five taluks of Kancheepuram, Uthiramerur, Sriperumbudur, Walajabad and Kundrathur. Chengalpattu district will have three revenue divisions of Chengalpattu, Madurathagam and Tambaram with eight taluks of Chengalpattu, Maduranthagam, Cheyyur, Thirukalukundram, Thiruporur, Tambaram, Pallavaram and Vandalur.

After the bifurcation of Tirunelveli district, there will be two revenue divisions of Tirunelveli and Sankarankovil in the district with eight taluks of Tirunelveli, Palayamkottai, Manur, Nanguneri, Radhapuram, Ambasamudram, Cheranmahadevi and Thisayanvilai. The newly-formed Tenkasi district will have two revenue divisions of Tenkasi and Sankarankovil with eight taluks of Tenkasi, Shencottai, Kadayanallur, Sivagiri, Veerakeralampudur, Sankarankovil, Thiruvengadam and Alangulam.

As far as Villupuram district is concerned, there will be two revenue divisions of Villupuram and Tindivanam with nine taluks of Villupuram, Vikravandi, Vanur, Thiruvennainallur, Tindivanam, Gingee, Melmalayanur, Marakkanam and Kandachipuram. The newly-formed Kallakurichi district will have Kallakurichi and Thirukoilur as two new revenue divisions with six taluks of Kallakurichi, Sankarapuram, Chinnasalem, Thirukoilur, Ulundurpet and Kalvarayan hills, which will be a new taluk.

The announcement to trifurcate Vellore district was made by Chief Minister Edappadi K Palaniswami at the Independence Day address, this year. The announcement to form Chengalpattu and Tenkasi districts was made in the Assembly on July 18, this year and the announcement for Kallakurichi was also made in the Assembly on January 8, this year.

Speed up infrastructure facilities: Ramadoss

PMK founder S Ramadoss on Wednesday demanded the state government to complete the infrastructure works at the earliest in the newly-formed five districts. “I am happy atthe state government issuing Government Orders (GOs) to form five new districts of Chengalpattu, Vikravandi, Tenkasi, Tirupathur and Ranipet. The government should set up the required infrastructure at the earliest in the newly-formed districts tosolve the purpose of formation of the new districts,” said Ramadoss, in a tweet, who also welcomed the ruling AIADMK government for commencing the works in the new districts. In another tweet, he said that the required infrastructure for the newly-formed districts such as “collectorate, governmentmedical colleges and other required facilities” should be set up at the earliest. 

Visit news.dtnext.in to explore our interactive epaper!

Download the DT Next app for more exciting features!

Click here for iOS

Click here for Android

Related Stories

No stories found.
DT next