Despite court cases Karti named in House panels

All that hullabaloo over the INX Media and Aircel-Maxis cases did not prevent either Sivaganga MP Karti Chidambaram or Central Chennai MP Dayanidhi Maran from securing a place on the Parliamentary Standing Committees.
Despite court cases Karti named in House panels
Karti Chidambaram


Karti Chidambaram was among the 21-member Parliamentary Committee on Information Technology, which has also accommodated DMK’s Thamizhachi Thangapandian representing the IT-hub South Chennai and Marxist Parliamentarian P R Natarajan from Coimbatore. Former IT minister Dayanidhi Maran would serve as a member of the Committee on Home Affairs with effect from Thursday, September 13.

In fact, most of the parliamentarians from the state, especially the MPs elected on the DMK’s Rising Sun symbol, have managed to obtain membership in the various Parliamentary Committees.

Chief among them was Thoothukudi MP K Kanimozhi, who has been appointed chairperson of the Parliamentary Committee on Chemicals and Fertilisers, which also comprises CPI MP M Selvaraj (Nagapattinam) and Congress members H Vasanthakumar (Kanyakumari) and M K Vishnu Prasad (Arani) as its members.

The BJP ally AIADMK, which has been striving to secure a Cabinet berth, has managed to get a representation for its lone Lok Sabha MP Ravindranath Kumar in the Parliamentary Committee on Water Resources. VCK leader Thol Thirumavalavan, who was elected from Chidambaram, was the lone Lok Sabha member to represent the state in the committee on Coal and Steel. Doctor-turned-politician DNV Senthilkumar from Dharmapuri was the only member from the state to be included in the committee on Health and Family Welfare. Educationists S Jagathrakshakan and T R Paarivendhar along with writer Su Venkatesan (Marxist) have been included in the committee on Human Resource Development. Former union minister A Raja from Nilgiris and Virudhu Nagar MP B Manickam Tagore from the Lok Sabha and DMK Rajya Sabha MP P Wilson have been made members of the Committee on Personnel, Public Grievances, Law and Justice.

North Chennai MP Kalanidhi Veerasamy (DMK) was the lone parliamentarian among the entire lot from TN to feature in the Cabinet Committee on Defence. Thanjavur MP S S Palanimanickam, along with his party colleague Tiruchi Siva (RS), would involve in Transport, Tourism and Culture Planning of Parliament Committee. Salem MP S R Parthiban, Cuddalore MP TRVS Ramesh, Karur MP S Jothimani (Cong), Tiruchy MP Su Thirunavukkarasar (Cong), A Ganeshamurthi (MDMK), Vaiko (MDMK - RS), A Chellakumar (Cong), Tirunelveli MP S Gnanathiraviam, Tiruvannamalai C N Annadurai, Kallakurichi Gautham Sigamani and Tenkasi MP Dhanush Kumar are also accommodated.

Related Stories

No stories found.