Tripathy, Shanmugham, Senthil Kumar names cleared for top posts

The Chief Minister’s office has cleared the names of K Shanmugham, JK Tripathy and Senthil Kumar for the top posts in Tamil Nadu government, highly placed official source told DT Next. Interestingly both Shanmugham and Tripathy have a non-controversial professional record irrespective of any regime and enjoy the camaraderie among civil service officials.
Tripathy, Shanmugham, Senthil Kumar names cleared for top posts


Incumbent Chief Secretary Girija Vaidyanathan and DGP TK Rajendran will retire on June 30. Rajendran has been in extension for the past two years and is likely to get some advisory role, sources hinted.

Girija who took over as the Chief Secretary in December 2016 post the demise of the then chief minister J Jayalalithaa and the subsequent political turmoil within the ruling AIADMK and has now completed more than two years.

“The order about the appointment of the new chief secretary and DGP is expected any time and the files in this regard is ready,” the official said.

Besides the transfers of District Collectors, transfer of senior IAS and IPS officials are also on the cards, the official added.

Tripathy known for his law and order acumen during the days of former CM Jayalalithaa is an official from the 1985 IPS batch, Tripathy had earlier served as Chennai City Police Commissioner and ADGP (law and order) besides working in various capacities in state police. Soft spoken K Shanmugham has been the longest serving finance secretary in the state, serving during the tenure of late CMs M Karunanidhi and Jayalalithaa.

Earlier, names of Governor’s secretary Raja Gopal, Hans Raj Verma, (secretary – Rural Development and Panchayat Raj), Rajeev Ranjan (on deputation to GST council) also made rounds to the coveted post of Chief Secretary.

Related Stories

No stories found.