Dindigul sets up Qualifier 2 meeting with Chepauk

Dindigul Dragons set up a Qualifier 2 date with Chepauk Super Gillies after defeating Lyca Kovai Kings by five wickets in the Tamil Nadu Premier League 2021 Eliminator at the MA Chidambaram Stadium here on Wednesday.
Dindigul sets up Qualifier 2 meeting with Chepauk
Dindigul Dragons celebrate after a wicket (Credit: Twitter/ @TNPremierLeague)


Chasing 144 for a place in the second qualifier that is scheduled for Friday, Dindigul got past the finish line with 15 balls to spare. DD was in a spot of bother at 53 for three in the 10th over, but captain Hari Nishaanth (59 off 44 balls, 5 sixes) and big hitter R Vivek (52 not out off 26 balls, 1 four, 6 sixes) turned the tide with an 85-run stand for the fourth wicket, which came of a mere 41 deliveries.
No.5 batsman Vivek and opener Hari Nishaanth dealt in sixes, hitting six and five maximums respectively, as Kovai bowlers ran out of ideas in the second half of Dindigul’s innings. Interestingly, Dragons struck as many as 12 sixes while managing only a couple of fours.
Earlier, B Sai Sudharsan was back among the runs to help Kovai post a competitive total. The 19-year-old Sai Sudharsan returned to form with an unbeaten 57 off 40 balls (3 fours, 2 sixes) and lifted Kings to 143 for six. On a pitch where bowlers had a big say, Sai Sudharsan stood out with his batting display, notching up his fifth half-century of the tournament. The southpaw swelled his run tally to 353 runs and maintained his top position in the batting chart.
After being put into bat, Kovai was struggling at the half-way mark with the scoreboard reading 49 for three. But in the final 10 overs, it kicked on to add 94 runs. Sai Sudharsan was at the centre of the revival along with his captain Shahrukh Khan (28 off 22 balls, 2 fours, 1 six) as they raised 62 runs off 42 balls for the fifth wicket.
Left-arm pacer Gurjapneet Singh (3 for 22) was the pick of the Dindigul bowlers while left-arm spinner M Silambarasan (1 for 23) also impressed.
BRIEF SCORES:Eliminator: Lyca Kovai Kings 143/6 in 20 overs (B Sai Sudharsan 57*, Shahrukh Khan 28, Gurjapneet Singh 3/22) lost to Dindigul Dragons 144/5 in 17.3 overs (Hari Nishaanth 59, R Vivek 52*, V Yudheeshwaran 2/22)

Related Stories

No stories found.