Irfan, Soumya come up trumps

KT Irfan (Kerala) and B Soumya (Kerala) were crowned champions in the 20km race walk (Elite) events of the 6th Open National Race Walking Championship here on Saturday.
Irfan, Soumya come up trumps
(from left) KT Irfan, Latha, secretary, TNAA, and B Soumya


While Irfan crossed the finish line in 1:26:18.00 in the men’s category, Soumya came up trumps in 1:40:25.00 in the women’s race. Irfan’s timing was well below the World Championships qualification standard of 1:22:30.

Devendar Singh (Haryana) and Sandeep Kumar (Haryana) finished second and third respectively in the men’s 20km (Elite) race walk, behind the Kerala lad. In the women’s (Elite) race, Priyanka (UP) and Ravina (Haryana) completed the podium.

The winners received a cash prize of Rs 50,000, while the runners-up were richer by Rs 30, 000. The third place finishers took home Rs 20,000. Around 86 candidates from India, Malaysia and Chinese Taipei took part in the event, which will serve as a trial for the Asian Race Walking Championships to be held in Japan in March 2019.

Results: Men’s 20 km (Elite): 1. KT Irfan (Kerala) 1:26:18.00, 2. Devendar Singh (Haryana) 1:26:19.00, 3. Sandeep Kumar (Haryana) 1:26:19.00.
Group ‘B’: 1. Rahul Rohilla (Haryana) 1:30:37.00, 2. Hardeep (Andaman & Nicobar) 1:34:39.00, 3. Sonu Mishra (Punjab) 1:35:00.00.

Women: 20 km (Elite): 1. B Soumya (Kerala) 1:40:25.00, 2. Priyanka (UP) 1:41:20.00, 3. Ravina (Haryana) 1:41:46.00

Are you in Chennai?  Then click here to get our newspaper at your doorstep!! 

Related Stories

No stories found.
DT next