Begin typing your search...

Tamil Nadu reign supreme

Dinesh Karthik produced a fine century as Tamil Nadu beat India B by 42 runs to lift the Deodhar Trophy in Visakhapatnam on Wednesday.

Tamil Nadu reign supreme
Tamil Nadu players take a selfie after winning the Deodhar Trophy


The keeper-batsman scored a fine 126 to help his side post 303/9. In reply, India B were bowled out for 261. 

Karthik, who scored 93 in the previous game, was once again in top form as he put Tamil Nadu on course for a 300 plus score. His 91-ball knock included 14 boundaries and three sixes. 

Karthik has now scored 854 runs from 12 List A matches at an average of 85.40 this season. He was well supported by Narayan Jagadeesan (55). The pair shared a 136-run partnership for the fourth wicket and dug Tamil Nadu out from a precarious position after they lost three wickets with just 39 on the board. India B’s Dhawal Kulkarni impressed with a five-wicket haul, but could not tame Karthik, who dominated proceedings. 

In reply, India B were given a sound start thanks to opener Shikhar Dhawan (45). His departure with the score on 83, slowed down the run-rate. 

Gurkeerat Singh (64) kept them in the fray, but could not quite get them the acceleration needed. Rahil Shah was the standout bowler for Tamil Nadu and finished with figures of 3/40. Tamil Nadu, eventually, closed out the game with 23 balls to spare.


Tamil Nadu: K Gandhi c & b Kulkarni 16, V Ganga Sridhar Raju c P Patel b Kulkarni 13, M Ashwin c Dhawan b Kulkarni 0, N Jagadeesan c P Patel b Milind 55, D Karthik c sub b A Patel 126, V Shankar lbw Dinda 21, B Indrajith (not out) 31, Washington Sundar c Dinda b Harpreet Singh 6, M Mohammed c Harpreet Singh b Kulkarni 14, R Shah c Jaggi b Kulkarni 4, R Sai Kishore (not out) 5. Extras (lb 4, w 8) 12. Total (for nine wickets in 50 overs) 303

FoW: 1-24, 2-24, 3-39, 4-175, 5-241, 6-241, 7-252, 8-275, 9-283. 

Bowling: D Kulkarni 10-1-39-5, A Dinda 10-1-54-1, C Milind 10-0-71-1, A Patel 10-0-62-1, A Karnewar 6-0-44-0, Harpreet Singh 4-0-29-1. 

India B: P Patel c Ganga Sridhar Raju b Mohammed 15, S Dhawan c Washington Sundar b Shah 45, M Pandey st Karthik b Shah 32, I Jaggi c Indrajith b Sai Kishore 1, Harpreet Singh c Gandhi b Ashwin 36, Gurkeerat Singh c Washington Sundar b Shah 64, A Patel c Sai Kishore b Washington Sundar 0, A Karnewar c Washington Sundar b Mohammed 29, D Kulkarni c Shankar b Sai Kishore 9, A Dinda c Shah b Shankar 19, C Milind (not out) 0. Extras (b 5, lb 1, w 5) 11. Total (all out in 46.1 overs) 261

FoW: 1-19, 2-83, 3-84, 4-165, 5-166, 6-222, 7-228, 8-233, 9-260, 10-261. 

Bowling: V Shankar 5.1-0-33-1, M Mohammed 5-0-53-2, R Shah 10-140-3, Washington Sundar 10-0-38-1, R Sai Kishore 8-0-41-2, M Ashwin 8-0-50-1.

Visit to explore our interactive epaper!

Download the DT Next app for more exciting features!

Click here for iOS

Click here for Android

Next Story