Begin typing your search...

TNPL 2024: LKK sets a target of 142 runs against CSG

Abhishek Tanwar picked up four wickets to help Chepauk Super Gillies restrict Lyca Kovai Kings

TNPL 2024: LKK sets a target of 142 runs against CSG

B Sachin scored his 1st 50 of TNPL 2024

SALEM: Defending champion Lyca Kovai Kings started off the eighth edition of TNPL with a tense 13-run win over four-time champion Chepauk Super Gillies here on Friday.

Leg-spinner Jhathavedh Subramanyan made a telling contribution with the ball for Kovai giving away just 11 runs while taking the wicket of Daryl Ferrario. Setting off in pursuit of 142, the Super Gillies finished at 128 for six with Pradosh Ranjan Paul retiring out on 40 (32b, 4x4). Captain B Aparajith scored a useful 38 (29b, 4x4, 1x6) but his innings couldn’t prevent his side from going down by a narrow margin.

Earlier, after being asked to bat first, the defending champion suffered an early setback, losing three wickets inside the powerplay. Abhishek Tanwar made a strong impression early in his debut for the Super Gillies by dismissing both J Suresh Kumar (4 off 3 balls) and Sujay (6 off 8 balls) in his first two overs. The all-rounder later dismissed Atheeq Ur Rahman (3 off 4 balls) and B Sachin to end with four wickets.

Sachin had a watchful start and gradually built his innings to top-score with 63 off 53 deliveries. His partnership with U Mukilesh, which yielded 64 runs, proved pivotal in stabilizing their innings.

BRIEF SCORES: Lyca Kovai Kings 141/7 in 20 overs (B Sachin 63, A Tanwar 4/26) bt Chepauk Super Gillies 128/6 in 20 overs (Pradosh Ranjan Paul 40 retired out)

Next Story